Plastic Bag to Organized Container – Making Food Easier to Find!

Going to the grocery store can be interesting in so many ways! I like looking for deals, finding the discount buns or cheaper cuts of meat and having to rejig my meal plan and scratch items off my list (and sometimes adding to the list mid-stride!).  I like to walk the aisles comparing the name brands to the no-name brands feeling quite proud of myself after spending less than I thought!

Then going home….and putting everything away!!! Ughhh, not my favourite chore.  The “necessary” evil, I know, but I never like coming home and reorganizing my pantry to make everything fit.  All I really want to do is sit down with a cup of tea and read my book!

Well, I think I may have found a solution to my “reorganizing the pantry after every grocery trip” problem.  I like to think of it as “plastic bag to organized container” solution.

I take the store bag the food comes in and transfer it to the plastic container that helps me organize my pantry.  I also know when I’m getting low on something because most of the plastic containers have a clear view of the contents.  So if I’m baking and getting low on chocolate chips, I know to add it to the grocery list.

I then avoid the conversation I’ve had with myself when I have that hankering for chocolate chip cookies, open the pantry and say “oh I thought I had chocolate chips” when I grab the empty container labeled “chocolate chips”.  This solution has solved that problem….well, kind of, sort of…read on!

IMG_2462

So here are the “noodles” containers I have. My egg noodles one (on the left) is completely empty so I put egg noodles on my grocery list the other day when I emptied the container. (I also have to grab the labeller and label it but that’s another post!)

When I used the last of the egg noodles the other day, I put the empty container on top of my pantry so I didn’t put it away thinking I still had egg noodles when I didn’t (do not want a “oh I thought I had egg noodles” conversation with myself!).  I also picked up macaroni ’cause they were on sale too (and I knew I was getting low! Love the window on the container!).

IMG_2461

This was a little “treat while watching TV” I picked up while shopping.  Good thing I had an empty container large enough to hold the entire bag! LOL!! Actually it used to hold flour but I used this for the “treat” so the plastic bag doesn’t clutter up my pantry!  The “treat” will be long gone by the time I need more flour so it’s okay!! (I can justify a “treat” anytime!)

IMG_2470

Here are the filled containers!!  They fit in the pantry beautifully and are visible so I don’t have to search for them!

This makes my grocery shopping trip less painful once I get home. In fact, I like this part the best!! Everything has a home and is put back into it’s place, it’s awesome!!

The pantry doesn’t have to be re-organized after every trip and I know what I need before I go shopping!!

This system works great for me. Hope you get to try it!

Thanks for stopping by Constantly Organizing With T!!

Leave a comment